Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita Episode 3 – Manga and Rebirth

You know, for I long time I’ve held to the idea that if you’re going to be a fan of something, you have to be able to make fun of it.  And so, I’m proud to report that the writers of this show obviously feel the same way.  I do have to say though, this is kind of an odd third episode, though I can’t say what I would call “normal” in a show where the first two episodes were about a group of sentient plucked chickens that take over a food factory owned by fairies so they can take over the world.  Well, I guess an episode about yaoi fangirls makes about as much sense as anything else they could have put in this episode. Plus most of it’s really funny, and it feels good to see the creators of an anime sit back and say, “Look, sometimes… you guys are just fucking crazy”.

This episode is basically a social satire about the world of manga and manga fandom, although it more specifically focuses on everybody’s favorite subdivision of anime and manga culture: yaoi fangirls.  The pseudo-feminists of today often propagate the idea that all men are sex-obsessed rapists or some shit and that all girls are helpless, innocent victims of the iron-dicked patriarchy of the modern world.  However, this episode (and yaoi fangirls in general) are out to prove that women can be just as, if not more, crazy when it comes to stuff like that than men.  Hell, look at Fifty Shades of Gray; it’s a shitty sex book that a hefty majority of women have deemed as one of the best works of literature of the past decade.  I also just saw Magic Mike (make your gay jokes if you want, but my friend saw Moonrise Kingdom with me, so I had to return the favor) and every woman in that strip club (and the theater)  lost their shit when Channing Tatum was stripping.  I also told one my friends moms I saw it, and she corroborated that women do indeed go crazy at male strip clubs, and yes that was awkward.

The episode essentially retracing the history of things like dojinshi and conventions came into existence, though by a completely different means.  And by the way, why the hell did that old rich guy have a basement full of yaoi manga?  Whatever, to each his own.  The new character who barely even has a name (but hey, one letter is at least a step up from all the other characters with NO letters in their names) seemed really random.  I don’t mean her character was random, I mean she just kind of showed up out of nowhere and said, “Hey, I’m doing this thing” with next to no explanation.  There seems to be a substantial amount of stuff going on in this place, such as the UN, a race of fairy people, and some kind of Human History Preservation thing, but they seem to brush over all of this stuff as if it’s not that important.  I’d kind of like to know more about what the hell is going on in this world, like the current state of technology and whatnot, so hopefully they get to that eventually.

Like last episode, this one was also pretty funny, although having a whole episode essentially parodying a single idea did seem kind of odd.  Pink/Sensei/Moderator/Girl or whatever you want to call her was also once again one of the best parts of the show.  I don’t really know how, but she somehow manages to be sarcastic and cynical without coming off as a really obnoxious, condescending bitch.  Maybe it’s because her pink hair just makes you want to like her.  Speaking of her hair, isn’t it alive or something?  Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t recall it moving a single time on it’s own this episode.  That seems kind of odd, seeing as how they kind of left that as a cliffhanger last episode.  Well, I guess I can only hope that will be explained a little bit more in the next that will apparently take place inside of some blank manga.  Yeah… I’m not really sure how that’s going to work, but from what I’ve seen so far, I’m sure this show will make it work somehow.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Episodic, Jinrui wa Suitai and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment