2013 Winter Anime Season

Chart 2

And so, in an attempt to get back into the swing of things, here are all the anime (that I know of) for next season, and my thoughts on them.  I’ll try to give any info I can and if PV’s are available, I’ll put a link for them.  Also, I’ll exclude stuff like Milky Holmes and PreCure, because, really?

Nekomonogatari: Black – (PV) – Yes, I put this first because I’m an asshole, but also because I really like the Monogatari series (and it’s also not on the chart).  Anyway, this isn’t actually a show, but a four part movie-thing airing on New Year’s Eve.  If I’m correct, it chronologically takes place after Kizumonogatari and before Bakemonogatari.  It’s about Hanekawa’s cat-thing and what happened the first time she was possessed by it.  Other than that it’s a Monogatari story and Shaft; you know what you’re getting.

Savanna Game – From the description, this sounds a lot like somebody cashing in on the Hunger Games craze; well, either that, or Mirai Nikki, but whatever.  Considering that I don’t see a whole lot of amazing looking stuff this season, it could be worth looking into.

Puchimas!: Petit iDOLM@STER (PV) I’ve never seen any of the iDOLM@STER shows or played any of the games, so I don’t really have any reason to watch a cutesy, comedy oriented spin off about a bunch of little dolls getting into “humorous” situations.

Ai Mai Mi(PV) – “The anime adaption of the four-panel manga Ai Mai Mi.”  Okay, that’s pretty much all you need to know about a show like this.  High school, girls, comedy, it’s a veeeery unique concept that’s obviously never been done before.  You know what to expect, so if you like shows like that, go ahead.

AKB0048 Next Stage(PV) – The sequel to that show with about 1000 main characters about a bunch of girls who sing pop songs to save the universe or something.  So, yeah, I don’t really have too much of a desire to watch this, even though I’ve heard it isn’t actually as bad as the ridiculous synopsis makes it out to be.

Ore no Kanojo to Osananajima ga Shuruba Sugiru(PV) – I read some of this manga just to see what it was about, and it’s pretty damn lame in my opinion.  You have a bunch of lame cliches and a bunch of attractive females ready to mount some completely bland and boring guy at a moments notice.  Once again, you can probably tell what you’re getting with this from the summary.

Senran Kagura(PV)So yeah, have you ever played Senran Kagura?  It’s pretty goddamn ridiculous; it’s pretty much a standard hack-and-slash game with a copious amounts of tits and ass thrown into it to make people buy it.  So I assume this show is going to be little more than Boobs and Swords: The Animation.

Bakumatsu Gijinden RomanPretty much the only thing that comes to my mind when I read the synopsis is Robin Hood, which isn’t really a bad thing I suppose.  There isn’t really a whole lot of information on it, so there isn’t that much to say on it’s behalf.

Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited – Hyoubu Kyousuke(PV)I’ve never seen the original series that this show is a spin-off of, so watching this probably wouldn’t be in my best interest.  Although, often times, spin-offs can stand on their own, so I guess it would still be possible for me to watch it and grasp what’s going on.

Senyuu.(PV)Yeah, not really sure about something like this.  It’s one of those really short episode things (five minute episodes) so it’ll probably be more on the goofy comedy side of things.  But whatever, if that’s your cup of tea, go for it and watch it.

Boku wa Tomdachi ga Sukunai Next(PV)The sequel to Haganai, which came a bit faster than I expected.  I thought the first season was pretty good, so I’ll probably watch this season on and off as well.  But I just pray to Satan that the annoying-ass nun girl gets run over by a bus or something.

Sasami-san@Ganbaranai(PV)This is a Shaft anime, so I’m legally obligated to watch it and to like itAnyway, it’s about some shut-in girl and her brother… and I don’t really know much beyond that.  Oh, and the PV is pretty crazy too.  Hopefully, Shaft will pull through and give me something else to watch this season.

Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?(PV)  – Yeah, both the synopsis and the PV for this show are pretty… something.  I don’t really know what to make of it actually; it doesn’t look particularly good to me, but I guess something about the oddness of it makes me want to try and see what it’s really about.

Beast Saga An anime for a toy series of robot animal things.  That’s all you need to know.

GJ-buHigh school people doing “funny” high school things.  And that’s all she wrote.

Da Capo III(PV) I’ve never watched any of this series and quite frankly, I don’t really understand how you keep a dating sim anime going for this long, but they’ve done it.  Technically, this isn’t even the third season of the show; both the first and second parts each had their own season, so this is technically the fifth.  I mean, Jesus, how much can there be going on in this story.

Chihayafuru 2Didn’t watch the first season, and this show really seems like you need to know what the hell’s going on it it to actually enjoy it.

Hakkenden: Touhou Hakken Ibun(PV)Both the summary and PV more this show come off as kind of “meh” to me.  It seems like the typical fair when it comes to things like this, so I don’t really have any desires to watch it.

Citicle Detective Inaba(PV) Okay, so the synopsis for this show is filled with all kinds of “what” in every shape and size.  A half-human-half-wolf detective with a hair fetish and his cross dressing secretary solve crimes and stuff.  Okay.

Tamako Market(PV) Also known as, “That show that looked like some K-on! spin off that they kept showing at the end of all those Chuunibyou episodes”.  And that’s just what it seems like, another light, K-on!-esque comedy thing.  But at least it’s by Kyoto, so it’ll look all nice and pretty.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha(PV) This is one of the few other shows that looks like it could at least be somewhat interesting.  There aren’t really a whole lot of straight-up “fantasy” anime these days, so at least it has that going for it.  The PV also makes it look interesting enough, so I’ll probably end up watching at least the first episode or two.

Kotoura-san(PV)A school romance comedy thing with a girl that can read minds.  Yeah, doesn’t really sound terrible or like it’ll be anything all that special either, so whatever.

Amnesia(PV)I really hate when shows that sound like they could potentially be interesting have really weird and confusing summaries to go along with them.  I guess it could probably be okay, but once again, that may be because there isn’t a whole lot I want to watch this season.

Mangirl! Four girls.  Slice of Life.  Comedy.  Done.

Vividred Operation(PV) Yeah, would have never expected that the Strike Witches guy worked on this, would you?  To me, ti looks like Strike Witches had an orgy with a bunch of magical girl shows and this show came out.  Looks like a pretty normal almost-lesbian magical girl show, so that’s all I have to say about that.

Posted on December 22, 2012, in Editorials, Features and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Did you watch Spice and Wolf? Maoyuu Maou Yuusha seems like it could be pretty reminiscent of that. Meh, I’ll probably end up watching it anyways.

  2. Ugh….guess I really need to get on finishing Chiyahafuru, which is a good anime because it explains the game that they play so I was able to pick up what was going on pretty good. Loved that show when I was watching it but after taking a few months off watching it I’m finding it tough to get back into it. 2 seasons might be too much.

  1. Pingback: 2013 Winter Anime Season | Anime Iz Life

Leave a Reply

