Winter 2012 Anime Guide

Well, it’s finally getting colder, which means I can’t wear Chacos everywhere I go anymore.  Anyway, we’re here to discuss the first anime season of 2012.  Also, instead of me being all by my lonesome, this time I have a fellow anime blogger, Cholisose, with me.  Below are a list of the shows that we either individually on collectively think will be worth watching.

1 – Kyousogiga

Click to view the PV

Synopsis – In a world where boundary between human and yokai worlds is no longer distinguishable, 3 different groups pursue for power. What is Count of Reality and Destruction of Negentrophy? Koto, a high school girl who got out of maze of Java Work, chases the shadow of “Kuro Usagi (Black Rabbit)”. This is a story surrounding various people chasing Kuro Usagi in Kyoto, where time has stopped.

Notaku – I’ve already done a post about this show (check it here) and I am very much looking forward to this show/movie, whatever it is.  Technically it’s an ONA, like the last three episodes of Bakemonogatari and the Hetalia series.  I honestly have no idea what this is really about and the description doesn’t do much good at explaining itself, but that’s okay, cause’ dat animation.  It’s supposedly based (veeeeery loosely I assume) on Lewis Carol’s Through the Looking Glass.  Visually, it looks absolutely amazing so even if it’s story is really lame or stupid, I’ll still enjoy it just based on that.

Cholisose – So apparently this is a movie made for TV? Whatever the case may be, it looks pretty fantastic. Look at the trailer and watch the beautiful, crazy animation, and its wide variety of art styles… Certainly looks imaginative!  People are comparing it to about twenty different anime, which may be apt since I can hardly figure out what this is meant to be about.  It’s supposedly (extremely) loosely based on Lewis Carroll’s Alice stories, so yeah, definitely going to be checking this out.  I love those books—and so do a lot of other people, since there are so many stories based on them.  I have a feeling this will be either really awesome, or just really weird. Or, of course, both. At the very least, there will be a school girl whacking a giant mecha with a hammer.

2 – Nisemonogatari

Click to view the PV

Synopsis This show is a sequel to Bakemonogatari. The black swindler Kaiki Deishu, who once deceived Senjougahara, returns to town and spreads the incantation which cursed Sengoku before.  Araragi’s sisters Karen and Tsukihi try to capture Deishu but…

Notaku – Bakemonogatari = win, so I’ll just assume the transitive property applies here.  Apparently, it’s about Araragi’s sisters (or at least that what the only image I could find for it looks like) and has something to do with the guy who put the snake curse on Sengoku.  I can’t even explain how much I love the original series, which is one of my favorite anime of the past 3 or 4 years.  You could say that it’s just a glorified harem show, but I don’t think that at all.  The animation and artwork are amazing and  I actually just loved the dialogue of the show, which is one of the rare times I would ever say something about dialogue in an anime.  I know a lot of people don’t like the show because of how much dialogue, but to me, some of the most enjoyable scenes are nothing buy Araragi and Senjougahara talking.  There is absolutely no way that I won’t watch this show.

3 – Another

Click to view PV

Synopsis – 26 years ago, in a third-year classroom of a middle school, there was a student named Misaki. As an honors student who was also good at sports, the charming girl was popular with her classmates. When she suddenly died, her classmates decided to carry on as if she was still alive until graduation. Then, in the spring of 1998, a boy named Sakakibara Kouichi transfers to that classroom, and he grows suspicious of the fearful atmosphere in that classroom. In particular, there is a beautiful, aloof girl named Mei Misaki who wears an eyepatch and is always alone drawing pictures.

Cholisose – Mystery and horror—sign me up! And it’s starring Chihiro from Ef: Tale of Memories. Or at least a girl that looks a lot like her. =P  The story’s based on a novel written in 2009, and there is a manga adaptation of it out there. I can’t find much more about it, so I’ll just have to wait and see how the first episode pans out in January.  I’m itching for another good horror anime… >=]

Notaku –  But really, this shows name makes it kind of hard to find any information about because you can’t just search “Another” or “Another anime” and come up with anything.  I’ve never heard anything about this show, but I like weird, creepy horror stuff, so I figured I’d like this.  That and there really isn’t a whole lot going on this season.  It has an almost nonexistent Wikipedia page and no PV that I know of, so there really isn’t much I can say about it.

4 – Recorder to Randoseru

No PV available

Synopsis – Miyagawa Atsushi is an 11-year-old boy. Since he is 180 centimeters tall and has a grown-up looking build, he has always been running into troubles. On the other hand, his 17-year-old elder sister Atsumi is only 137 centimeters tall and has a childish looking build. Atsumi takes good care of Atsushi, who acts his true age.

Cholisose – I’m going to go out on a limb and assume this will be a comedy series.  It’s based on a four-panel manga, and the concept sounds quite amusing.  The elementary school-aged boy incredulously looks like an adult, while the high school-aged older sister is a pipsqueak.  It’s obvious what sort of gags will come from this kind of setup, but if the execution is sound it should be fun.  I can’t find any scans of the manga online, so I can’t say anything much more.  Not until the first episode airs, of course! I’m wondering if these will be little 5-minute episodes like Morita-san, or if they’ll be full-fledged episodes.

5 – Black Rock Shooter

Click to view the PV

Synopsis – These young girls’ hearts are pure, and then violent!  Mato Kuroi just got into junior high school, and on the first day, someone catches her eye; her classmate Yomi Takanashi. The two meet.  The innocent and naive Mato. The mature Yomi. Seemingly opposites, but the time they spend together only strengthens a growing friendship.  But as they go into their second year at the school, they get placed in separate classes, and they begin to grow apart.  But somewhere simultaneously…  In another world, a young girl, blue fire residing in her eyes, Black Rock Shooter faces another young girl; this one holding a jet-black scythe, Dead Master, and a battle to the death begins to unfold.

Notaku – Okay, look, I thought the original Black Rock Shooter was really really stupid.  I mean, it’s an OVA based off a song.  That’s stupid.  I can’t remember anything about it either, other than that I wanted the stupid school girls to hurry up shut up so I could watch their fantasy counterparts duke it out in LSD land.  The entire time I was thinking to myself how little sense the whole thing made, and how the two parts had absolutely nothing to do with each other.  But if the creators are will to smoke some more pot and make some crazy fight scenes, I may watch it.

6 – Natsume Yuujinchou Shi (S4)

No PV available

Synopsis – Natsume Yuujinchou is a light and cheerful anime adapted from the manga of the same name.  Since he was young, a teenage boy named Natsume Takashi has been able to see spirits, but keeping this ability a secret has now become a heavy burden for him and has made his life difficult.  This begins to change when Takashi inherits his grandmother’s “Book of Friends”.  He discovers that she, Natsume Reiko, shared the same ability as him and starts to understand why he was always targeted by both good and bad spirits.

Cholisose – The fourth season of Natsume Yuujinchou! This is one of my favorite anime series ever, so it goes without saying I’ll be watching this. The first season was wonderful, the second season spectacular, and the third season even better than that. It’s one of the most unique shows out there, and the protagonist Natsume is one of the best examples of strong, gradual character development in anime.  I’ll certainly be curious to see where the fourth season goes plotwise. There’s plenty of side characters who could return, including the elusive Seiji Matoba… What I would especially like though is to learn more about Natsume’s grandmother Reiko. Looking forward to it.

Notaku – I’ve only seen a few episodes of this show but if it has enough staying power to last four seasons, I’ll just go ahead and assume it’s pretty good.  But if I watch this I’ll have to marathon the rest of the show because I don’t really like to watch direct sequels without seeing the original.

7 – Inu x Boku SS

Click to view the PV

Synopsis – The Shirakiin house’s daughter, Shirakiin Riricho, who has a complex about being unable to live independently and unprotected, feels the need to move out and live on her own under the condition of residing in the mansion named “Ayakashi Kan.” In this mansion, only those who have cleared a very strict examination could reside in it, and for each resident, they are accompanied with one agent of the Secret Service (S.S.). Although Riricho has rejected the company of the S.S., while residing in the mansion she finds out that the agent dedicated to protecting her is actually the Fox Spirit whom she previously rescued.

Cholisose– I’m more on the fence for this one, but it sounds like it could be fun. What is confusing me though is the genre for this anime. I’ve seen things like “comedy,” “mystery,” and “supernatural,” but not “romance.” The plot description screams romcom to me. (Maybe it’s just a given?).  Browsing through the official site for this upcoming anime presented a variety of good-looking character designs, and the trailer reveals some decent animation.  But will this be geared to the Black Butler crowd? I’m worried if that’s the case. It’s based off a manga, and browsing through the first chapter of it, it gives me a bit of a Tactics vibe, oddly enough… I’ll wait for the first episode to see how I feel about it.

8 – Kill Me Baby

No PV Available

Cholisose – This is based on a four-panel comic, and it looks cute and funny. It’s about a schoolgirl and her friend, who happens to be an assassin. And that’s the whole premise. Should be amusing.  Not sure if this will be a five-minute show. I think it would work fine as one, though full-length episodes would be funnier, Azumanga Daioh-style.

Obviosly this is not the full line up of shows, so click here to view the full list.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Editorials, Features, News. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice work on the banners–this preview turned out quite nice.
    Looking forward to Natsume the most, but I’ve got high hopes for Kyousogiga and Another.
    Doesn’t seem there are as many new anime coming out this winter, but I’m thinking there are a bunch of fall shows that are 20-something-ep series. Things like Mirai Nikki, Chihayafuru, and Last Exile, at least. (Meanwhile other shows will be getting a second half in the spring, like Fate/Zero and Kimi to Boku…)

  2. Another looks to be a great anime, I can’t wait for the Major OVA

  1. Pingback: Winter 2012 Preview | Cholisose!

Leave a Reply

