Guilty Crown Episode 1 – First Impressions

First Episode Here

God, this show has been hyped up beyond belief, but for (somewhat) good reasons. First, it’s directed by Tetsuro Araki, the director of Death Note, so that instantly puts big expectations on this show from the masses.  Second, it’s co-written by one of the writers of Code Geass, which isn’t really that much of draw for me, considering the enormous amounts of melodrama in that show.  Finally, it’s produced by Production I.G., so no one should be too worried about the visuals.

Guilty Crown is about, as all anime are, a normal high-school boy named Shu Ouma, who leads a very normal quite life.  However, unlike most anime, it takes place in a future that is not completely totalitarian (like Ergo Proxy and what-have-you) but rather, the government has taken heavy involvement in the lives of it’s citizens.  It’s set in 2039, after a violent virus outbreak ten years before.  After this, the country fell into a distraught state, and Japan relied heavily on foreign help as well as intervention by their national government to help the populous.  Anyway, Shu has gone through his life feeling somewhat alone, which he attributes to his bad social skills.  One day as he returns to his… house, I guess (pretty shitty house though) he finds Inori Yuzuriha, who is apparently the lead singer of the show’s allegory for Supercell.  After she says some cliched pseudo-philosophical stuff to him, and talks about the thing she stole in the opening of the show, the fuzz bust in and take her away.  While Shu sits there feeling sorry for himself for losing such a hot piece of ass, her mini Tachikoma from Ghost in the Shell shows him a map displaying where he needs to go to take the thing she had.  When he gets there, he meets Gai, obviously the leader of their Guerrilla resistance thing.  But things can’t stay too good for long, and a bunch of mechs attack.  In the midst of all this Inori somehow escapes where she was being held (it didn’t really make it clear why she was so close to them) and makes her way to the warzone.  Because it’s dramatic, she stands on a pile of ruble in plain view of two of the mechs, and Shu rushes to save her, because it’s dramatic.  Then the show becomes Code Geass and he gets the power to pull swords out of peoples boobs…. okay.

May even have more rape than Mawaru Penguindrum

I’m not so sure will live up to it’s absurd expectations, but I still expect it to be pretty good.  It’s Production I.G., so badass animation, and badass music by Supercell, which I forgot to mention.  I think it was stupid how Gai (and Shu himself) were making such a big deal about him not saving Inori; Christ, if police kicked the door in on my house and told me if I moved they’d shoot me, I think I’d stay still.  The fight thing at the end was kind of weird too; it just seemed like the obligatory first episode battle.  How did it start so suddenly? where did they want Shu to go? how did Inori get there? The main thing I’m worried about is how shonen-centric it will be.  I mean, a nobody boys meets a fine-ass girl, gets super power, saves world, I’ve seen it before.  However, IF this show can stay away from all the ho-hum shonen things I know it will probably try to do, I think it has a very good shot at being really great.

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Episodic, First Impression, Guilty Crown and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Skimmed your review but I’ll watch it later tonight. Code Geass was overly ambitious and nearly pulled it off if it weren’t for the trappings of the conventions of the genre. I.e., the second season blew all the goodwill of the first season. Death Note was equally ambitious but it lost all momentum once L croaked and the creators resorted to cop outs with a clone of L in near. So I’m hoping the creators of both shows learned from their mistakes but none of us should expect as much.

  2. Yes, those limitations are the very trappings of the genre I mentioned.

    Re: Guilty Crown. Saw it. Thumbs up to the visuals. Almost a generational leap from the rest of the offerings this season. But the story is what we’ve all seen before plenty of times: bland male protagonist runs into a gorgeous mysterious chick who gives him amazing powers.

  3. Yeah, everyone’s watching this one, but I read the premise beforehand and it didn’t sound like my thing. And according to the blogosphere, it turns out it’s generic as all get out. Luckily there are a few intriguing shounen shows this season (namely Mirai Nikki and Fate/Zero), so I’m already set there.

    My opinion on Code Geass is also that it was extraordinarily melodramatic. I think I got through four or five episodes before I decided I didn’t care about anyone in the show except Lelouche (or rather his voice actor)–which is bad, since there were about 800,000,000 characters, and they were all going through the most extraordinary crises of their lives all at the same time. And losing their clothes. -_-*

Leave a Reply

