Fate/Zero Episode 1 – First Impressions

Dropin' Names

Can you say, “Exposition”?  Good!  You just described the entire hour of what I just watched.  Now, don’t jump on me here, I won’t say I didn’t like this because it did nothing but explain stuff… for an hour.  I will say I didn’t like it that much because I never really cared for Fate/stay night, because it really bored me, as this show did, though definitely not as much.  I think this show is for people who have seen the first series, because I couldn’t tell you a damn thing about what I just saw, other that Rin was in it as a kid, Kariya wants to enter the 4th Holy Grail War so some girl doesn’t have to make a child to participate in the next, and people talked a lot.  My main problem with things like this, that have these vast expansive lores behind them, take more time explaining what everything is, how everything works, and who everyone is, than actually progressing their story.  I know exposition is kind of necessary for this, but at the same time, I don’t think it’s really a wise move to dump so much onto the viewer in the first episode.  However, this does seem a lot more interesting than Fate/stay night.  It explains a lot (LOT) of stuff and actually have very good character designs and artwork, which was one of the things that helped me get through it.  I’m may try to watch it, but I know plenty of other people will no matter what.

First Episode Here

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Fate/Zero, First Impression and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It would be best to have a little background knowledge since the Type Moon universe is so vast…

    • Yeah, but I still think it was kind of an odd move, as I’ve heard this marketed as a standalone series that anyone could watch and enjoy, but starting out with such a long-winded exposition that only the fans would connect to may have turned some people a way.

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Fate/Zero Episode 1 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

