Mawaru Penguindrum …I don’t even…

This show is so awesome, but it’s just so damn confusing.  I have now come to the conclusion that I am simply not smart enough to understand this show.  Just thinking about it makes my head hurt.  I don’t even want to think about thinking about the ending, because I know doing so will just make my head even more sad, and the real ending will probably (and hopefully) rape my mind to hell and back anyway.  I’m pretty sad that it only has four episodes left, but at the same time relieved that this show will hopefully explain everything that’s going on… or it could pull and Evangelion and not really tell us what happened for two years.  So here is my best attempt to summarize to plot of Mawaru Penguindrum.

The simplest plot description I could make

I dare you to make more sense of it.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in Editorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. My thought after seeing the first episode was basically this:
    http://s3.amazonaws.com/kym-assets/entries/icons/original/000/001/332/roflbot-ZfY6_2_.jpg?1273974755
    And not in a good way I’m afraid. But that’s the risk really weird shows take. For some people, it’ll click and they’ll love it to death (i.e. everyone blogging the series), but for the rest of us, we’ll drop it after the first episode. x_x
    Maybe if I loved penguins, I would’ve been all over this. ‘Cuz there’s plenty of those. And drums to, perhaps? I don’t remember. ;>

    • Yeah, it’s really weird but its still one of my favorite shows in a while (we’ll see if the ending keeps it that way) even if it did take a few episodes to get over that “what in the hell is going on” feeling.

  2. I stopped reading the diagram when I saw “Magic Penguin Queen”

  3. Yep, that pretty much sums it up. Lots of fate, rape, and metaphors.

  1. Pingback: Aniblog Tourney Vistor Post Thing-a-ma-jig « The Notaku Blog

  2. Pingback: Aniblog Stuff Day 3

Leave a Reply

